At KOLEILAT LAW, we have been helping our divorce and family law clients for more than 22 years. Lauren Koleilat is an experienced trial attorney who understands the emotional toll divorce can have on your family. She has the practical and legal experience to aid you through your case.
Florida is a no fault divorce. This means that neither spouse is required to prove fault of the other spouse to be granted a divorce. In Florida, the only requirements to getting a divorce are
(1) One spouse to live in the state for more than 6 months prior to filing the action, and
(2) One spouse believes the marriage is irretrievably broken.
What is a no fault divorce state?
In Florida, you can file for a divorce without your spouse committing any fault. This is because in the state of Florida if both spouses agree that they no longer want to be married then it’s easier and faster to get divorced than other states where one or more specific reasons must be provided by only one party before filing the petition.
What does dissolution of marriage mean?
Dissolution of marriage is the legal term for divorce in Florida, which allows partners to terminate a marriage. It’s an alternative form of filing for divorce where instead you petition and terminates marriages rather than dissolves them like some states do.
How much are Florida divorce attorney fees?
Florida divorce attorneys charge between $400 and $600 per hour depending on the lawyer. For many lawyers, there is also an upfront retainer fee before any work begins. Lawyers may demand a flat fee for initial consultations as well; these fees can vary based on the duration of the case but are typically around or under $800 dollars total.
In Florida, most divorce cases range in price from about 2 thousand to 10 thousand dollars with uncontested divorces costing less than contested ones that could reach up to 20 thousand dollars or more! Almost all lawyers will require some sort of payment when you meet them initially so make sure your finances allow it beforehand because if they don’t appreciate cash flow issues then this might not be your best bet at finding help either.
Since only one party needs to believe that the marriage cannot be salvaged, the court will grant the divorce even if the other spouse does not want a divorce. Contact KOLEILAT LAW today to schedule a consultation to discuss your individual needs and whether your divorce will be contested or uncontested.